At Place Farm Primary Academy, we follow the statutory EYFS curriculum document, which is play-based and identifies seven areas of learning and development. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are: 

  • Communication and Language 
  • Physical Development 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

In addition, there are four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are: 

  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

We work very closely as a Foundation Stage Team. In Foundation, the children spend the majority of their day engaged in Child Initiated Learning. This involves the children choosing from a range of activities, both inside and outside, focusing on the seven different areas of the EYFS curriculum. They also take part in four whole class sessions each day, which are led by an adult.